2018-2020 SES Board

I’m excited to announce the results of our election and announce the following new SES officers:

President-Elect: Kirsten Hofmockel
Communications Officer: Loren Byrne
Secretary: Jen Krumins
At-large members: Francesca Cotrufo, Jenny Soong, Jacob Parnell
Student Representative: Yamina Pressler

Thanks to all nominees for their willingness to serve the society, and congratulations to our winners.

Best Regards,
Matt Wallenstein
SES President

Help modernize our email management system

Hi Soil Ecology Society Members,

First, I’d like to thank you for your interest and past participation in the Soil Ecology Society.  I’m excited to serve as your President for the next couple of years.  We have an incredibly exciting meeting in store for 2017, in addition to other activities.

But, I need your help.  I’d like to modernize our email management system- we have many old emails that are bouncing, and it’s hard to track everyone!  Thus, we have adopted the MailChimp service to maintain our list.

To stay in the loop,  click this link and register for our mailing list:


Please do it now, before this email gets buried!  It will take all of 30 seconds, I promise.


Matt Wallenstein
SES President

Matthew Wallenstein
Associate Professor, Department of Ecosystem Science and Sustainability
Research Scientist, Natural Resource Ecology Laboratory
Joint Associate Professor, Department of Soil and Crop Sciences
Director, Innovation Center for Sustainable Agriculture

Colorado State University    Fort Collins, Colorado     80523-1499

Twitter:  @mwallenstein
Skype:  matthew.wallenstein
Office:  970-491-1623

Web Site: http://www.nrel.colostate.edu/wallenstein-lab/
Google Scholar Profile

Soil Ecologist Awards


Soil Ecology Society Colleagues, I’m excited to announce the 2015 Soil Ecology Society Awards:

Career Achievement Award: Josh Schimel

Early Career Award, Jenny Talbot

Service Award, Sherri Morris

Come to the SES meeting where award winners will be given keynote-type talks!

Early Career Research Award. This award recognizes an early career soil ecologist within 5 years of their PhD who has begun making, and shows exceptional promise to continue making, outstanding research contributions to the broad field of soil ecology.

Service Award. This award recognizes a soil ecologist who has demonstrated outstanding and sustained service to SES, the broader scientific community/and or the public at large.

Career Achievement Award. This special award honors a long-term member of SES who has made enduring and outstanding contributions to scientific advancement, student mentoring, and service in the field of soil ecology.


Stuart Grandy

Associate Professor of Soil Biogeochemistry

University of New Hampshire

President, Soil Ecology Society